Peonies

DSC_0235

If you’re like me, you love the big, beautiful mop-headed peonies each Spring.  Maybe you even have a peony garden and lovingly research and plant specific cultivars.  Unfortunately, that isn’t always the case, though, as we share our plants each year.  Such is the case in my garden.  I have two lovely big Karl Rosenfeld peony bushes that give me gorgeous deep red blooms every year.  In another part of my garden, I have two Bartzella peony bushes that should bloom for the first time this year (fingers crossed) and give me big yellow flowers.  However, I also have a couple that were gifts so I don’t know much about them at all; one is too small to even bloom yet, but the other has bloomed for the first time and produced beautiful delicate pink blooms.  It was just a delight!  I did a little research online and found that there are dozens of peony cultivars with pink blooms and, while maybe it would be nice to know exactly what it is, I’ve decided to just enjoy the beauty instead.  Sometimes I think we get too caught up in the organization and identification of everything in the garden when, instead, simply enjoying the beauty and fragrance is the much smarter choice!

One thought on “Peonies

Leave a Reply

