Miniature Garden Inspiration!

I was so inspired by the Miniature Garden presentation at the Garden Conference last weekend I ran home and got to work!

I had two old fish bowls collecting dust in the garage that were just perfect. I went to a local greenhouse and picked up a few succulents, a small cactus and some air plants. I also needed Cactus Mix soil, some sheet moss (both were recommended at the conference) and used rocks and beach glass I’ve been collecting for years.

As I had learned at the conference layering rocks and the sheet moss under the soil helps with drainage and keeps the plants from being too wet. Cacti and succulents can manage without too much water so you don’t want them swimming! Air plants also just need a spritz or rinse once a week so they seem like good companions for my little cactus.

Here are my creations! I’ll keep you up to date on their status and if I’m able to keep them alive. I’ve already learned that cats really like to pull little air plants out of the soil!

Inspired by the conference and my recent trip to Arizona!

Inspired by the conference and my recent trip to Arizona!

Little Cactus and Air Plants

Little Cactus and Air Plants

Mini Succulent Garden

Mini Succulent Garden

Mini Garden

Mini Garden

Posted by Rachel

Leave a Reply

